Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Poison

on April 26, 2013

Title: Poison
Author: Bridget Zinn
Rating:fivestars

untitled

I want to talk about something first before I get into the actual review of this book. If you don’t care to read it, feel free to skip to the next paragraph. But reading this book really made me realize some things (about myself particularly) that I really wanted to share with you guys. I promise its relevant (sort of). I’ve always loved to read. When I was a kid I read Little House on the Prairie and Goosebumps and stuff like that, but during the summer before I started high school I started looking at books in a different way. I discovered V.C. Andrews and Dean Koontz and Stephen King and Brian Jacques and countless others. I went to the library every week, sometimes twice a week and just devoured the hell out of whatever I could get my hands on. I was never really a very social person, I always sort of preferred books (and animals) to people. But during that summer I had my first thought of, ‘I wonder if I could write a book myself?’ I realized that I wanted to make people feel good…the same way I felt when I read a book I really connected with. It was a desire that, once sparked, has never really left me. And I have a few novels that I’ve been working on, that I’ve been dreaming of finishing and….life seemed to just keep getting in the way. I work six days a week, ten sometimes eleven hours a day, and I go to school at nights. And lots of times I want to sit down and work more on my book I say to myself, ‘Not right now, I’m too tired,’ or ‘I can work on it later.’ Not to say that I don’t EVER work on it, I do write a little bit at least once a day, but there’s always more I could be doing, you know? But you know what I have come to understand? There might not be a later. Bridget Zinn has taught me this. When I read about what happened to her, it broke my heart. Not just for her, but for myself. Bridget was a young woman who loved books and writing, yet she succumbed to illness before seeing her book published. And while I am so happy and thankful that it DID get published, it breaks my heart to know she never saw it happen. It really made me understand how short life is. No one knows how much time we each have left. And we have to make the most of what we do have. Dream huge. Live even huger. Do everything you thought you would never do. Push until you make every wish come true. For me, that means getting my ass in the chair and working on finishing my book(s), no matter how fucking tired I may be, or how hard it may get. Take all the ideas swirling inside my head and turn them into characters and scenarios that will (hopefully) make other people smile and be happy. Because it’s my dream. And I don’t want to ever give it up. And I honestly can’t imagine any other way I want to spend my life than writing and reading. So Bridget, wherever you are, I just want to thank you for writing this amazing book, even if you didn’t get to see it published. And thank you for your passion and your dream and your determination to see it though. You’ve really helped me to understand just how precious life is.

That being said, now on to the actual book review! 🙂

Kyra is a sixteen year old highly trained master of potions…and poisons! She is so skilled that she has never missed…except for now, when she has just attempted an assignation of the Princess of the realm! Only she knows that she must kill the Princess to save the land from destruction, but in the eyes of everyone else she has just gone rogue. So now Kyra is on the run, with only a pig named Rosie and an extremely cute vagabond named Fred to keep her company. But somehow she must make it back inside the city so she can defeat the Princess before she is caught.

This book was seriously amazing! It was such a perfect, light, fun, fantasy story. I didn’t want to stop reading it because it was so wonderful, but at the same time I couldn’t keep myself from devouring it as quickly as possible because I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next. The characterization was amazing! I really loved Kyra, she was so fun and sassy and utterly believable! And Fred, well… *swoons* He was just to die for! There were a few twists and turns toward the end that I did NOT see coming, and it was super fun to be surprised with that. And also there’s the sweet little pig named Rosie…A PIG NAMED ROSIE HOW EFFING CUTE IS THAT!?!?! *sighs happily* This book was great. If you love fantasy (especially fantasy with humor in it) you will no doubt adore this book! The only downside of this book is that it was over WAY too fast!

Leave a Reply

