Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: The Golem and the Jinni

on May 6, 2013

Title: The Golem and the Jinni
Author: Helene Wecker
Rating: fivestars

golem & jinni

“I have made more mistakes than I can count. But when something goes wrong, it does no good to hide and cry. You have to take what you’ve learned, and keep going.”

“I trust you above all others. Above myself.”

New York, 1899. Two creatures from completely different backgrounds come together from their loneliness and form a camaraderie so unique and priceless that it changes not only their own natures, but the lives of the humans they have come into contact with. Chava is a golem, masterless yet desperate to find meaning in her ‘creation.’ Ahmad is a jinni, coping with being bound in a human body. Together they are alone, adrift, directionless. But together they find in each other the strength of friendship, purpose, and meaning.

I had no idea what a delightful treat I was in store for when I picked up this book last week in the store! I was immediately attracted to the gorgeousness of the books physical properties. The beautiful picture of the arch on the front cover, the delicate gold foil twirlings around each corner, the deep blue of the edges of the pages, it all drew my interest…and so I bought it. Don’t judge a book by its cover, isn’t that the old saying? I’m willing to admit that I go against that teaching on an almost daily basis, but in this case I was rewarded most generously!

Aside from the physical beauty this book exudes the inside holds a vast treasure. When I read that this was Helene Wecker’s debut novel I was immediately shocked. How could a first novel be this breathtaking? But it is. I can literally not find one fault with this book. Not one. It is an intoxicating blend of history, mythology, love, magic.am impressed at the seamless blending of the two mythological creatures. A golem is a clay creature from Jewish mythology, and a jinni a fiery being from Islamic theology. That in and of itself sounds like it is a huge barrier to keep these two characters from becoming close! But it isn’t. They are alone, surrounded by humans who couldn’t possibly understand them. But even though they are tentative and uncertain of each other at first, their bond grows so strong and so bright it becomes something really beautiful to behold. And even though they are supernatural creatures, their struggles to find purpose and love really almost humanizes them and brings them down to a level that anyone could identify with. This book is fascinating and intriguing!

This book truly is a masterpiece. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone in the hopes that they get as much enjoyment out of it as I have

2 responses to “Review: The Golem and the Jinni

Leave a Reply

