Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Forever Fae

on May 16, 2013

Title: Forever Fae
Author: L. P. Dover
Rating: fourstars

forever fae

This was the second buddy read I completed with my bestest book-reading buddy, Lily! *cheers* You can find her review of this book on her wonderful blog:
http://lilythenovelnerd.wordpress.com/2013/05/17/book-review-forever-fae-forever-fae-1-by-l-p-dover/

When Calista, Fae Princess of the Summer Court attends her Guardian Ceremony, she knows that warriors will be fighting for the honor of being her personal guardian but has no idea how many other things are about to change. For members of the Winter Court are in attendance of this ceremony as well. And when Prince Ryder of Winter and Princess Calista of Summer meet, the world of the Fae will never be the same. And neither will their hearts. But even with the stirrings of romance and love in the air, an ancient evil awaits in their midst.

This book really surprised me in a lot of ways. When I first saw the cover I figured it would be another paranormal romance about Faeries. I was definitely wrong, because although the story does center around love, there is so much more to it than that! It’s about relationships, bonds, loyalty, friendship, courage, and the power of kindess. It is many things rolled into one and I enjoyed every minute of it!

I really liked Calista and even though she is a Princess, she is still a girl that others can identify with. She liked the outdoors (duh, she’s a Faerie!) she loves to read, she loves pasta (!?) and she loves her family and homeland of the Summer Court. Even when Merrick and Ryder were fighting over her, she really didn’t lose her cool and flounder between the two of them like so so so many other heroines in these types of books do. She stuck to her guns and stood up for what and who she loved, which I thought was great.

Now, about this love triangle situation. *sighs* I really have grown to hate them. I am just so tired of authors using them to advance the story that at the beginning signs of one in this book just made me want to pull my hair out! But that was my fault, not the book’s fault or the author’s fault. Because once I got past the chip on my shoulder about it, I could clearly see how different this love story truly was. It’s original. It’s thrilling. It’s, well, awesome!

I was planning on rating this book three stars, but then I got to the last 5-6 chapters and was so blown away by the plot twists and the surprises I decided to amp my rating up to a four. Any book that can effectively make me gasp and cause tears to form will automatically grant itself a higher rating! I don’t want to say too much for fear of giving anything away, but I do love it when books take me by surprise!

My favorite aspect of the book (besides Ryder, YUM!) is the fact that it is told through various points of view. We cycle through Calista, Ryder, and even the villain in the tale, and it really helped to keep things fresh by showing different perspectives. Kudos to you, L.P Dover!

This was definitely an enjoyable read and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys stories about the Fae and people who like good romance.

3 responses to “Review: Forever Fae

  1. Great reading reviews that you and Lily have done onthe same book. Sounds intriguing 😀

Leave a Reply

