Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: The 5th Wave

on May 25, 2013

Title: The 5th Wave
Author: Rick Yancey
Rating:fivestars

The 5th Wave

“It wasn’t about saving us. And it wasn’t about enslaving us or herding us into reservations. It was about killing us. All of us.”

“Sooner or later you have to choose between running and facing the thing you thought you could not face.”

The world is not what it once was. There are only pockets of humanity left on what was once a thriving planet. Yet Cassie cannot give up hope. While her younger brother is still missing, somewhere out in the world she has vowed to never stop looking for him. Even though she is on her own. And even though the enemy wears humanity as its disguise….

This book! *shivers* What a wild ride it was! I was originally going to wait a little while to purchase this, but the phenomenal reviews on goodreads just blew my anticipation level through the roof! So I bought it. I found myself immediately hooked from the very first paragraph. This is a dystopian story unlike any other. It takes place in the present time, with the main character Cassie on a quest to find her brother. But it also flashes back to right before the first Wave hit, and other various points before the present. This is an amazing feature of the book because it really helps you to understand exactly what Cassie (and also essentially the world) had to go through during the alien attack. That is my favorite type of dystopian story and why I adore books like The Stand and The Passage so much. It’s all well and good to start the book off well after the devastation has hit, but I feel the more emotional stories are the ones where you experience the apocalyptic sequence of events right there with the character. It creates a far bigger bond between reader and character, in my opinion. I really loved the way the story went back and forth between Cassie and ‘Zombie’s point of view. It was interesting to see the story from various perspectives.

There was a lot of action and thrilling adventure in this story, but mainly it was about hope. Hope for humanity, and the hope that you can strive to be the best person you can be, no matter what the odds. I loved absolutely everything about this book and would recommend it to anyone, especially if they enjoy dystopian books!

4 responses to “Review: The 5th Wave

  1. Scott says:

    Nicely reviewed, Becky! I was a touch hesitant to read it because I’m reading it myself, but you’ve encapsulated the feel for what’s to come without spoiling! I can’t wait to see how this all turns out!

  2. maechs says:

    I saw this book at my local Sam’s club and almost picked it up, but I hadn’t heard anything about it and for some reason I thought it wasn’t the first in a series (don’t ask why – must’ve been an airhead moment)! Now I’m kicking myself for not getting it…grrr. Great review! I look forward to reading more of your reviews & posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

