Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: The Remarkables

on June 3, 2013

Title: The Remarkables
Author: A.D. Elliot
Rating: fourstars

remarkables

I received a copy of this book in return for my honest review. Thanks, A.D.! 🙂

When Owen Johnson comes home from school to find out that his father had been kidnapped, he must learn to trust his superpowers and the powers of the Remarkables, others with unique gifts. This book was a fast paced, action packed, superhero book that literally kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. What a wild ride!

Character wise, although my favorite was most definitely Myrtle, I did enjoy Owen as well. He seemed like a normal teenager to me, albeit one with extraordinary powers! I liked that we got to see him and his feelings for Kate, as well as how he worried over what was happening to his father. It brought him down to a more ‘human’ level, so to speak, and made him more identifiable. But also, like I said, Myrtle was so awesome! I almost wish she could have her own book because she was just such a kickass character! The storyline moved pretty quickly, which I enjoy with a book such as this. It kept my heart pumping and my brain excited for more! The back story of some of the characters was just so intriguing, and it really made me hope for a sequel!

Writing wise, I was pretty happy with this book! There were a few typos, which were to be expected, but nothing that really threw me out of the books reality or halted my reading process. There is some humor in this book as well, which made me really happy! I love stories like this with humor, it was very reminiscent of the Percy Jackson series, which made me love it even more. The author hinted at some things and left little tidbits about some of the characters (such as Clive) that really made me even more interested in this world and what happened to some of the characters in the past. In my opinion, there could be countless books in this type of series, and it reminded me of ‘The Avengers’ or ‘The Justice League’ in terms of different worlds and realities. Very interesting stuff!

All in all, this book was a real pleasure to read and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys fast paced superhero/action adventure young adult books!

3 responses to “Review: The Remarkables

  1. LilyRiddle says:

    Love it darling 😀 ! Glad you liked it too ❤

Leave a Reply

