Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: The Tommyknockers

on June 18, 2013

Title: The Tommyknockers
Author: Stephen King
Rating: fourstars

stephen_king___the_tommyknockers

“Late last night and the night before, Tommyknockers, Tommyknockers knocking at the door. I want to go out, But don’t know if I can, I’m so afraid of the Tommyknocker man…”

When Maine native Bobbi Anderson trips on a piece of metal sticking up from the woods behind her house she has no idea how much it will change…everything. Despite the fact that it causes her headaches, extreme menstrual bleeding, and her teeth to fall out, she digs…and digs…soon the whole town is affected by what Bobbi is uncovering. And nothing will ever be the same, for any of us.

This book, to put it quite simply, scared the ever living hell out of me! O_O; It started out simply enough, at a nice calm pace, and then about halfway through the book the pace quickened (along with my heartbeat) until I was literally on the edge of my seat, biting my nails, unable to stop thinking about what was happening to the characters within the pages. Luckily for me, the gore was kept to a minimum. If you know me by now, you’ll know that excessive gore is my biggest pet peeve with Mr. King’s writing. I’m not squeamish by any sense of the word, but unless it helps to move the story or get a point across I have no reason to believe it should be included in the story. In any case, the gore melded together perfectly with the absolute terror and fear that seeped out of the storyline. And it wasn’t just SCARY. It was downright creepy as well, which is sometimes even harder to pull off. You literally get a firsthand screening of the deterioration of the town of Haven. It’s brilliant.

The characters were the usual blend of flawed anti-heroes, which is something you just naturally come to expect from Mr. King’s writing. This is not a complaint, rather it is a compliment. It is so damn hard to create a character that is flawed or broken. But these are the types of characters that resonate with the reader the most deeply, in my opinion. Because we see some of ourselves within them.

The only complaint I really had about this story was that I felt there were a few scenes that could have been a bit shorter. For example, the incredibly long and boring backstory about the town’s origins as well as the ranting about Gard’s extreme hatred of all things of a nuclear nature. Not saying they were unnecessary, just unnecessarily long.

I would recommend this book highly if you are in need of a good scare. Or if you are a fan of Stephen King. This is definitely one of his better books.

One response to “Review: The Tommyknockers

  1. […] Review: The Tommyknockers (ayanami023.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

