Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Bag of Bones

on June 29, 2013

Title: Bag of Bones

Author: Stephen King

Rating: fivestars

Bagofbones

“What comes in when daylight leaves is a kind of certainty: that beneath the skin there is a secret, some mystery both black and bright. You feel this mystery in every breath, you see it in every shadow, you expect to plunge into it at every turn of a step. It is here; you slip across it on a kind of breathless curve like a skater turning for home.”

After four years of grieving after the loss of his beloved wife, Mike Noonan finds himself packing up and moving out to his summerhouse in Maine, called Sara Laughs. But eerie noises. puzzling messages, and strange dreams haunt his stay. Is it his wife? There is a deep, dark secret at the heart of this town. Now Mike needs to discover what it at the bottom of it, or he may find himself a victim of the town’s sordid past.

I love this book with every fiber of my being. I expected it to be good, but I had no idea that I was going to fall in love with it at hard as I did! First The Stand, then It, now Bag of Bones…dare I say that I am finally after all these years becoming a Stephen King fan? Pish posh! But I can’t deny how much this book moved me, because it did. And in so many ways. I felt such sympathy and empathy for Mike Noonan as he struggled to cope with the loss of his wife and unborn child. I positively trembled with fear as he slowly unraveled the web of deceit and mysteries that lied at the heart of the small town in Maine. And I sighed with bliss as he slowly began to fall in love with Mattie and her daughter. This book is truly a masterpiece. It was terrifying, but without a huge ton of excessive/needless gore. The writing was sublime. In fact, my favorite part of the book was the first two hundred pages or so because I loved learning about Mike and what made him tick. I loved falling into his life. And the story was…well, just a good old fashioned ghost story. It was awesome and kept me on the edge of my seat until the very end. The characters and the plot kept me completely immersed in that world and I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good thriller.

One word of caution, and it may be that I am getting on a pedestal here to preach a bit but oh well, this is my blog so you’ll just have to put up with it for a second. 😛 The ONLY problem I had with this book was the description of an explicit rape scene. Now. I am no prude (as I think I have mentioned before). However I found the description of the scene distasteful. Not that rape is ever a tasteful thing to read about of course, but in the case with this book it was almost too graphic, there was too much detail. The horror of the situation could have been portrayed without the graphic description, in my opinion. This is a problem I have had with many of Stephen King’s books in the past, which is part of the reason why I am always a bit leery to pick up his books. I prefer a story, not a cheap thrill. *sighs* That being said, that was only a minor part of the book, and it was minor enough to not make me drop a star in the rating, so take it how you will. Like I said, overall, I think this book is a real treasure.

Leave a Reply

