Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: The Ocean at the End of the Lane

on July 6, 2013

Title: The Ocean at the End of the Lane
Author: Neil Gaiman
Rating: fivestars

theoceanattheend

“Childhood memories are sometimes covered and obscured beneath the things that come later, like childhood toys forgotten at the bottom of a crammed adult closet, but they are never lost for good.”

“Adult stories never made sense, and they were slow to start. They made me feel like there were secrets, Masonic, mythic secrets, to adulthood. Why didn’t adults want to read about Narnia, about secret islands and smugglers and dangerous fairies?”

There is something to be said about an author who can bring you to tears with every book they write. Neil Gaiman is one of those authors for me, and this book was no exception. It was very short, a lot shorter than I imagined it to be. And that saddens me. Not because it is poorly written or ends badly, for it isn’t and doesn’t. But I didn’t want it to end. I was so sad to finish this book so quickly and have to set it down.

Essentially, the story is about a man who goes back to the place of his childhood and is remembering things that happened when he was younger, things he forgot. And they all center around the three women who lived at the end of the lane, the Hempstocks.

Everything about this story is just breathtaking, from the vivid characters to the haunting storyline to the absolutely gorgeous writing style. Even if you do not like urban fantasy I would advise you to pick this book up. It is not one to be missed. And even if you have an e-reader I would advise you to pick up a paper copy. The cover is beautiful!

2 responses to “Review: The Ocean at the End of the Lane

  1. maechs says:

    Gaiman is a genius author! So many of my fellow reading buddies have told me they absolutely loved Ocean! I have this book on my shelf but haven’t read it yet. My to-read stack is slowly shrinking though so I’ll be picking it up soon!

Leave a Reply

