Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Bared to You

on July 17, 2013

Title: Bared to You
Author: Sylvia Day
Rating: fivestars

BaredToYou_cover_hires

There was a lot of hype about this book, so for quite awhile I made myself stay away from it. Don’t get me wrong, I love erotica and I love this type of erotica in particular, but there just seemed to be SO many people talking about it and it was making me feel a bit ill about it, to be honest so I waited a while before picking it up.

I am really pleased that I did. It’s compared to Fifty Shades quite often, but to be honest I don’t quite see it. The idea of a dominant male and a submissive female is not exclusively pinned down to Fifty Shades and Fifty Shades only, there are tons and tons of this type of story out there. Let me tell you how this story is NOT like Fifty Shades. It is exceptionally well written. The characters (both protagonists) are really and truly and deeply fucked up. We get to see them react to each other’s failings and flaws and work through them. The story (and sex) is fun and intense and meaningful. I was surprisingly pleased by how much I enjoyed this book. And I am really looking forward to reading more of this series.

Leave a Reply

