Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: The Cuckoo’s Calling

on August 6, 2013

Title: The Cuckoo’s Calling
Author: Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling)
Rating: fivestars

cuckooscalling

Confession time: I may have picked this book up because I found out that it was in actuality written by J.K. Rowling. *cringes* I know, I know. This is basically why she wrote it under a pseudonym, so that the ratings would show how great of a book it is without the name Rowling behind it. Well. I bought it for that reason, I won’t deny it. But fellow readers, I am here today to tell you that if you are on the fence about whether or not to pick it up or read it, let me confidently assure you…

This book is absolutely fantastic. Don’t walk, RUN out and buy it immediately! I loved it from the first word to the very last. And after the last word, I was desperately sad that it had ended.

It doesn’t feel like anything Rowling has written before. The writing style seemed completely different, yet still just as mesmerizing. This is a murder mystery, and let me tell you, if you are like me you will be COMPLETELY BLOWN AWAY by the ending! It was great! I can’t praise it enough!

Okay, now that I’m calm again, I want to talk about how great the main character, Strike is. He is not what you would call a lovable man. He is missing part of one leg (due to a military accident), he is a bit overweight, not very attractive, and at the start of the book he is basically living out of his office because his longtime girlfriend kicked him out. *laughs* But despite all of this, in fact maybe BECAUSE of all this, he became of the most identifiable and likable characters I have ever met. Or, you know, read about. I don’t know how Rowling did it. It must have been magic. (Ha ha). Nope, not magic, just amazing writing.

But seriously people, this book was awesome and a perfect summer read. Pick it up soon if you haven’t already!

Leave a Reply

