Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: The Thousand Orcs

on August 20, 2013

Title: The Thousand Orcs
Author: R.A. Salvatore
Rating: fivestars

thousandorcs

One dark elf. Two enchanted blades. One unknown enemy. And a horde of invaders.

“I am not afraid to die because I know that I am part of a something, a concept, a belief, that is bigger than all that is me, body and soul.”

R.A. Salvatore’s Drizzt series is a staple of the fantasy genre. You almost can’t talk about fantasy books and not relate back to Drizzt somehow. It is a fantastic series, and this one is one of the best books in it thus far.

As usual, the character development is full of depth and meaningful exchanges, the storyline is fluidly paced, and the action…well, the action scenes are fantastic. There is a lot of fighting in this book (surprise, surprise!) and all of it took my breath away and left me wanting more. There was also a lot of dwarf politics in this story, which I found fascinating to read about, since I find Salvatore’s dwarves some of the best written dwarves in the genre.

And in the end this book is a great read, full of laughter, sadness, epic brawls, sassy dialogue, and great characters that you wish you could take home with you. I would recommend this series and author to anyone who enjoys fantasy!

Leave a Reply

