Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

on September 15, 2013

Title: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
Author: April Genevieve Tucholke
Rating: fivestars

betweenthedevil

“I don’t want you
But I hate to lose you
You’ve got me in between
The devil and the deep blue sea

I oughta cross you off my list
But when you come knocking at my door
Fate seems to give my heart a twist
And I come running back for more

I should hate you
But I guess I love you
You’ve got me in between
The devil and the deep blue sea…”
(Ella Fitzegerald)

This book surprised me by knocking my socks off! This is the first young adult paranormal romance book that I’ve picked up in awhile, and I’m really glad I did because not only did I love it, but it really invigorated my love for the genre as a whole.

This book is very very different from many of the young adult paranormal romances out there. The main character, Violet, is a wonderful delight because not only is she complex and beautiful and flawed, but she is also someone you really end up caring about right in the beginning of the story. It has the ‘disappearing parents’ syndrome that many books in this genre suffer from, but to be completely honest, it is completely believable in the context in which it is presented. I loved the setting, the atmosphere, and the tone. It was very gothic and romantic, reminding me a lot of ‘Jane Eyre’, and ‘Rebecca’. And it was honestly just a very entertaining read. The paranormal aspect of it was completely unique, which was refreshing and wonderful! And to be honest, the title and the cover were what really grabbed my attention. I mean come on, look at it! Isn’t it gorgeous!?! And whoever said you can’t judge a book by its cover, anyway? 😉

One response to “Review: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

  1. […] Review: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (ayanami023.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

