Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: The Book of Blood and Shadow

on September 15, 2013

Title: The Book of Blood and Shadow
Author: Robin Wasserman
Rating: fivestars

bookofbloodandshadow

“I have seen them riding seaward on the waves
Combing the white hair of the waves blown back
When the wind blows the water white and black
We have lingered in the chambers of the sea.
By sea girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown.
Till human voices wake us, and we drown.”
(T.S. Elliot)

While helping a professor translate Latin in letters from centuries past, Nora stumbles upon secrets that have been buried for a long long time. And with good reason. Now her best friend has been murdered, his girlfriend rendered catatonic, and Nora’s boyfriend is missing-and being accused of the murder. With the knowledge that not everything is at is seems, Nora heads to Prague to uncover to the truth about the past, and how it relates to her present.

This book was an absolute gem! I owned it for about a year without reading it, and then grabbed it on a whim to pack along with me on my recent vacation to the Outer Banks. I am so glad I did and absolutely want to hit myself for not reading it sooner. This book is so detailed, so precise, so wonderful that at times I had trouble believing it was a young adult book. Now look, before I start getting stones thrown at me I want to make it clear that I absolutely adore the young adult genre. I have read countless books in that category and hope to read countless more. But this book felt completely different from so many books that I have read in the past. It had a depth and mystery to it that was more along the lines of ‘The Davinci Code’ or ‘The Romanov Prophecy’.

I love books where I learn new fascinating things. Did you know for example that Prague was founded by a wise and powerful witch? Or that there is a book called the Voynich Manuscript which has foiled cryptographers and linguists for over a century and just might contain a language no one has heard of before? So damn fascinating! I love books that are not only enjoyable but knowledgeable as well. And this is definitely one of them. This book also helped me rekindle my love for the poet T.S. Elliot. And that’s always a good thing! 😛

This book is filled with mystery, intrigue, and suspense. But it is also filled with great character development too. Nora is a fantastic protagonist. She has lived a rough life, continues to live a rough life actually, but she still hikes through all the mess to try and discover the truth.

I really really enjoyed this book! I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys thrillers or mysteries!

Leave a Reply

