Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Divergent

on October 23, 2013

Title: Divergent

Author: Veronica Roth

Rating: fivestars

divergent

“I believe in ordinary acts of bravery, in the courage that drives one person to stand up for another.”

“People tend to underestimate my character. They think because I am small, or a girl, I can’t possibly be cruel. But they’re wrong.”
If I could mark this book 10 stars, I most definitely would.

I picked this book up because of the huge amount of positive reviews for it, and as soon as I started it I could understand why. I was hooked by it from page one, and I finished it in one day because I literally could not put it down.

A lot of people have compared it to The Hunger Games, and I can sort of understand why. Despite the fact that the stories are vastly different and each wonderful in their own way, the lead characters Katniss (The Hunger Games) and Triss (Divergent) share one core characteristic: They will both do whatever it takes to survive, and protect the ones they care about. Although they are both teenage girls they are wise beyond their years.

I personally am drawn to strong female characters, which is one of the many reasons why I adore Divergent. And like I said before, the storyline is so damn gripping and intense. This is an amazing book, folks. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.


Leave a comment