Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Doctor Sleep

on October 26, 2013

Title: Doctor Sleep

Author: Stephen King

Rating: fivestars

Doctor_Sleep

Little Dan Torrence who we as readers first met in Stephen King’s masterpiece, The Shining, is all grown up and ready to face down some new demons of his own. Struggling with the shine and with his own alcoholism, he is working at a hospice center and helping to ease those suffering into the quiet, peaceful arms of Death, earning him the nickname Dr. Sleep. After meeting a young girl named Abra Stone with a shine brighter than anything he’s ever encountered, he realizes that she is in danger from a group of shine-sucking-older-than-dirt-beings who survive on the essence of children with the shine.

I loved the hell out of this book. I was a little hesitant when I heard about it, because how in the world can you create a sequel to such an amazing book as The Shining? But Mr. King did not let me down, and I was not disappointed in the least. In fact, I am proud to say that I enjoyed it much more than the original. Doctor Sleep is a completely different sort of book. While it is terrifying as hell, most of the story revolves around the character development of Dan Torrence. We watch him hit rock bottom with his alcoholism and fight to claw his way back up to become the person he knows he can be. Knowing Stephen King’s own history with alcoholism this brought even more depth to the writing and the story. It was also really interesting to see him as the teacher instead of the student when it comes to the shine. And the True Knot? *shivers* They are some scary motherfuckers. Especially Rose. She is NOT someone I would ever want to cross paths with, I’ll tell you that! And last but not least, the ending was truly moving and full of depth and I won’t lie, I definitely cried as I finished it. 🙂

This book was amazing and I loved every page of it!

Leave a Reply

