Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Allegiant

on November 2, 2013

Title: Allegiant

Author: Veronica Roth

Rating: fivestars

allegiant-book-cover-high-res

“There are so many ways to be brave in this world. Sometimes bravery involves laying down your life for something bigger than yourself, or for someone else. Sometimes it involves giving up everything you have ever known, or everyone you have ever loved, for the sake of something greater. But sometimes it doesn’t. Sometimes it is nothing more than gritting your teeth through pain, and the work of every day, the slow walk toward a better life.”

“Sometimes I forget to look for the gentler parts of her. For so long all I saw was the strength, standing out like the wiry muscles in her arms or the black ink marking her collarbone with flight.”

I feel so emotionally compromised right now after finishing this book that I almost want to sleep it off, slog through my FEELS and write this review tomorrow. But I can’t. I need to write this while I am still feeling raw around the edges, still gritty with the aftermath of this fantastic and devastating book.

To anyone who says that reading is boring or a waste of time I say this to you in return-read this series immediately. You are missing out on a unexplainable experience if you do not allow this series to grab you by the heart. Rarely have I ever read a book so emotionally fulfilling and yet made me cry and cry and cry. It was beautiful. It was heart-wrenching. I laughed. I cried. I raged. I fell in love with Tris and Tobias all over again. I don’t even know how I can deal with this right now.

First of all, I want to talk about how the amazing character development that has occurred throughout the first two books continues whole heartedly in this last book. Not once did our main characters flounder and become two dimensional cardboard cutouts. They were real; they stumbled, fell, and picked themselves back up just like the rest of us do. And I got to experience every beautiful moment with them as I read, as will you. Tris is without a doubt, one of my favorite female protagonists of all time (right up there with Katniss from The Hunger Games).

She is so strong and so smart, and she is one of those rare people who doesn’t play games or cart around other peoples bullshit. She is fierce and independent and knows what she has to do to protect herself and others…

“If someone offers you and opportunity to get closer to your enemy, you always take it. I know that without having learned it from anyone.”

Yet she never loses herself. She always has remained true to herself and continues to learn and grow from the people she loves…

“I am like the blade and he is like the whetstone-I am too strong to break so easily, and I become better, sharper, every time I touch him.”

I also loved that this book was split between both of their points of view. It was a fantastic way to watch the story unfold through them both. I also love the way that the character development didn’t end with the protagonists. I have read and fell in love with so many other characters while reading this series and that trend continues in Allegiant. People like Caleb, Cara, Christina, Zeke, and Evelyn all get their moments to shine and to grow. And I want to take a moment to mention Peter as well, who started off in Divergent as someone I truly hated but now that the story has come full circle I find myself respecting him a little which I never thought I would do.

Now we have come to the ending, which is what has so many people up in arms. I wish it was different, I wish it wasn’t so hard, but I understand it. I accept it. Even though it broke my heart I respect the decision to end it that way. I am just grateful for the time I had while reading and re-reading this series. I am sure I will do so again and again. And I will learn from the characters and the story, and hopefully grow even more myself.

“I suppose a fire that burns that bright is not meant to last.”

Leave a Reply

