Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: A Warrior’s Path

on November 9, 2013

Title: A Warrior’s Path

Author: Davis Ashura

Rating: fourstars

warriorspath

I received a copy of this book from the author in return for my honest review. 🙂

Ever since the demon Suwraith appeared over two thousand years ago the First World has been plagued with deadly attacks from her terrible creature, the Chimeras. Humanity struggles to survive as the land is torn apart by war and brutality. And yet Suwraith will not be content until all of civilization is destroyed. But from the darkness, hope shines forth. Rukh is a fighter from the warrior caste who is extremely proficient with weapons and fighting. He has been selected to join the Trials, an exercise in the Wildness which will test his every skill and also the measure of his worth.

I enjoyed this book immensely! As soon as the author contacted me to see if I was interested in reading his book I jumped at the chance. Action? Adventure? Fantasy? Mythology? Heck yes, where do I sign up! Every aspect of this book impressed me. The storyline progressed fluidly and didn’t get bogged down at all with boring patches or over descriptions. I loved all the various backgrounds that the author included in this book, you could really see the amount of time and level of care that he used to craft this novel. The characters were fantastic, especially Rukh who was my favorite. Alot of times with fantasy stories the characters can feel sort of like cardboard cutouts and bland, but that was certainly not the case with this story at all. It was vibrant, pulsing with life and history. And finally, the writing style was excellent. I was pulled into the story right from the beginning and that feeling of excitement and wanting to know what happened next didn’t let up until the very end.

This was a fantastic story and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who enjoys a well crafted fantasy story.

Leave a Reply

