Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: The House of Hades

on November 9, 2013

Title: The House of Hades

Author: Rick Riordan

Rating: fivestars

houseofhades

Annabeth pressed her lips to Percy’s ear. “I love you”.
She wasn’t sure if he could hear her-but if they died, she wanted those to be her last words.

I wanted to wring Rick Riordan’s neck after the cliffhanger in that last book! I worried and worried about Percy and Annabeth for months until this came out. But then I started this book and immediately fell in love with the characters and storyline all over again. And within minutes I was hooked.

So you’re forgiven Mr. Riordan. 😉

In this latest book in the Heroes of Olympus series Percy and Annabeth travel across the devastatingly treacherous Tartarus to reach the Doors of Death while Jason, Hazel, Frank, Nico, and Piper race across the world to meet them on the other side. Battles are fought. Lives are lost. Relationships are strengthened. Challenges are met and vanquished. This book is absolutely amazing! Like all of his books, there is a perfect blend of seriousness and humor. That is one of my favorite aspects of his writing. It is a hodgepodge of emotions and feelings, good and bad.

One other quick mention about this book, and it is the thing that blew me away the most.

I don’t want to go into too much detail, because even if its not a plotline spoiler, it is a bit of a character spoiler. But I will say this. He takes a direction with a character that I would have never expected, and my respect for him has skyrocketed higher than I could have ever expected. And the way the other characters react to it just confirms my belief that Rick Riordan is officially amazing and my new personal hero.

“I’ve seen a lot of brave things,” he said gently. “But what you just did? That was maybe the bravest.”

Leave a Reply

