Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: World After

on November 11, 2013

Title: World After

Author: Susan Ee

Rating: A most emphatic fivestars

world-after_612x917

“I shove everything into the vault in my head and mentally lean hard to shut the door. I have a whole world in there now. I can’t afford to open it without the serious risk of being crushed by all the stuff that’ll spill out. Some of my friends had therapists in the World Before. What I have in that vault could make a therapist’s career untangle.”

I never thought I would say this, because Angelfall was one of the best books I have ever read, but World After blows it right out of the water.

*is still hyperventilating over it*

Seriously people, this book is one huge bowl of awesome, ass-kicking, terrifying, heartbreaking, and heart-mending books I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. Susan Ee has really outdone herself yet again. I read about a quarter of it yesterday and once I sat down with it today I don’t think I moved once until it was finished. I was riveted to my seat, my eyes glued to the story as I flew through the pages. Everything about this book lived up to my incredibly high standards. Penryn is even more badass and amazing. I really think she is one of my favorite book heroines. She’s so brave and smart and willing to get down and dirty to help others and herself. She’s a survivor. I love that. Raffe is as snarky and wonderful as ever. Penryn’s mother is as crazy as ever. Erm, scratch that. She might actually even be a bit more crazy in this one. And the story unfolds at a delicious pace, never slowing up or faltering or falling in on itself.

It is, in my opinion, a damn near perfect book.

Hot damn do I love this series!

Leave a Reply

