Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Dark Witch

on November 13, 2013

Title: Dark Witch

Author: Nora Roberts

Rating: fivestars

dark witch

“You can’t just hope for happy endings. You have to believe in them. Then do the work, take the risks.”

You know that feeling you get when you read a new author for the first time and wonder where they had been for your whole life? That beautiful one of a kind experience that makes you feel like you’re falling slowly, sweetly, through liquid gold?

As an avid reader, I live for that feeling! 🙂

I saw the cover of this book in the store last week and was caught up by the title and the gorgeous cover with the beautiful house and horse on the front. I was a little surprised to see that Nora Roberts wrote it. So I read the dust jacket and the story sounded intriguing and I thought, ah what the hell, let me give this a chance.

And the rest, as they say, is history! 😉

And I am so happy to say that Nora Roberts has completely won me over with this book! I don’t know why I never read any of her books before. One of my best friends is over the moon for her and raves about her all the time. I guess I held off for so long because I thought of her generally as just a romance writer. Not that I have anything against romance, it just usually isn’t my cup of tea. Unless of course its paranormal romance or just plain smut I usually can’t hold my interest in regular old romance stories. So imagine how pleasantly surprised I was to find that not only did I enjoy the book, I fell completely head over heels in love with it! There was nothing regular or ordinary about it. It was not only about a love story. It was about magic. And danger. And evil wizards and curses and animal totems and all kinds of other fascinating things. But it was mainly about a young girl who was uncertain of herself, who was looking for acceptance. She traveled halfway around the world to find out who she really was and what she wanted from life. And she was willing to risk everything to obtain the life that she knew she deserved. I was really taken aback by how much I enjoyed the main character, Iona. She was fun, smart, kind, and very easy to relate to. I liked her so much! And I loved the magic that went along with the story too, it was so interesting and really believable. The writing was excellent and I loved the way that the story flowed and came together.

I looked at the begginning of the book and my heart fluttered wildly as I saw that Nora Roberts has written over 200 books! 200 books? I get to fall in love with her work that many time? Excellent! Can’t wait to lose myself in more of her writing! Nora Roberts, you have won yourself a new fan!

Leave a Reply

