Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Blythewood

on November 20, 2013

Title: Blythewood

Author: Carol Goodman

Rating: fivestars

blythewood

“Darkling I listen; and for many a time
I have been half in love with easeful Death….”

Avaline Hall has had just about enough of heartbreak and misfortune. Her mother has died of a laudanum overdose, her best friend perished in a factory fire, and she has just escaped from a mental institution where she was admitted under suspicious circumstances. But all that is about to change. The grandmother she never knew existed has stepped forward to take her under her wing. And she has been admitted into her mothers alma matter, Blythewood. But this school is much more than it appears. Dark secrets and a plethora of mysteries surround it. And Avaline is going to have to unravel them all if she wants to survive.

Okay, truth time. I absolutely bought this book for two reasons; the absolutely gorgeous cover, and the fact that it is a book about a boarding school with secrets. I am an absolute sucker for stories like this! The romance, the intrigue, the mystery…I just can’t seem to get enough! Well, I was really lucky in this instance because Blythewood ran circles around my original expectations. Not only is the writing fantastic and the characters really believable and easy to identify with, but the storyline really drew me in. I don’t want to say too much about it, because I really don’t want to give it away at all, but I will say that this was one of the most original plots I have come across in a long long time. I was taken completely off guard throughout the book and it kept me on my toes as I tried to figure out what would happen next.

This was a great book and a wonderful addition to the YA genre

Leave a Reply

