Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Fangirl

on December 11, 2013

Title: Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Rating: fivestars

fangirl

“Just … isn’t giving up allowed sometimes? Isn’t it okay to say, ‘This really hurts, so I’m going to stop trying’?”
“It sets a dangerous precedent.”
“For avoiding pain?”
“For avoiding life.”

I had heard such wonderful things about this novel from so many people that I knew I wanted to check it out and see if the hype was worth it. A book with a fangirl protagonist? Said protagonist that writes slash fanfiction? FREAKING FANTASTIC. Despite the awesome premise though, I was a bit worried that this book was going to end in a non-satisfactory way. And what I mean by that is that I was worried the lesson of the book was going to be along the lines of ‘here’s this nerdy girl who goes to college and discovers that she doesn’t need her fandom anymore because now she has cool friends and a boyfriend lolz’ or something to that effect. Whew! My relief was profound and my happiness with this book grew exponentially when I discovered that that is NOT what this book is about at all. The author really just GETS fans. She understands that fandoms are important to people. I have been in so many various fandoms throughout my life (ninja turtles, star trek, star wars, anime, harry potter, etc) and so I can honestly say that there have been lots of times where fandoms have gotten me through rough patches. And yet the author doesn’t let it take over Cather’s life either, which is also important. She doesn’t give up her fandom and in addition she finds people that can accept her and love her for who she is without having to change anything about her wacky self.

What a great message! I love this book!

It really made me feel so warm and full of feels!

I also felt like the book was easy to relate to in general. Cather has all sorts of experiences (going to college, dealing with boys, caring about her father) that most people can identify with. I found this book to be really fun to read and I was sad to part with the characters at the end!
Also, the best part of this book? The fandom that Cather is involved with is a fake book/movie series called Simon Snow, and the author actually included some passages from the books at the end of each chapter. It was a really nice touch!

Leave a Reply

