Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Midnight Bayou

on December 11, 2013

Title: Midnight Bayou

Author: Nora Roberts

Rating: fivestars

midnightbayou

“Family’s the luck of the draw, Lena. What you make of yourself, because of or despite it, that’s where the spine and heart come in.”

Declan Fitzgerald has no idea why he is drawn to the ancient mansion in Louisiana, but once he buys it and begins to fix it up, he finds himself neck deep in restless spirits, long forgotten secrets, and a love that is anything beyond his wildest dreams.

Nora Roberts strikes again! Once more I found myself completely engrossed in this tale of mystery, suspense, and unconditional love. The setting and storyline was just absolutely fascinating. I have never been to New Orleans or Louisiana yet I could really get a feel for the setting by the lush and lyrical descriptions that the author provided. The deep beauty of the bayou and the roaring vivacity of the city; I was so caught up in that amazing place! And I loved the two protagonists, espescially Lena. She was just so realistic and easy to empathize with. She had been hurt in the past and tried to so hard to keep her heart at a distance from others, which made the love that developed between Declan and Lena even more beautiful.

I absolutely loved everything about this book


Leave a comment