Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Labor Day

on December 30, 2013

Title: Labor Day

Author: Joyce Maynard

Rating: fivestars

laborday

“She was in love with love. She couldn’t do anything partway. She felt everything too deeply, it was like the world was too much for her.”

This story details the momentous events that take place over the course of Labor Day weekend when Adele and her teenage son Henry, bring a fugitive into their homes and their lives.

I literally just finished this book a few moments ago, and I am still such an emotional mess right now that I should probably have waited to write this review but I wanted it to be as fresh as possible.

This book. Holy shit, guys. This book is probably one of the most achingly beautiful books I have ever had the pleasure to read. It was so tender and heartbreaking and so unbelievably full of heart and emotion that I feel like this is going to stay with me for the rest of my life. This book is about family and loyalty and what it means to grow up, but it is also mostly about love. The kind of love that sweeps you off your feet and never puts you back down. The kind of love that you dream about. The kind of love that is wild and passionate and makes no sense at all and brings all kind of trouble to your door and still all you can do is get down on your knees and thank whatever gods there are above that that kind of feeling made its way into your life.

This book is nothing short of amazing.

“It hadn’t been losing my father that broke my mother’s heart. It was losing love itself. What she had loved was loving.”

Leave a Reply

