Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Red Rising

on March 7, 2014

Title: Red Rising

Author: Pierce Brown

Rating: fivestars

redrising

“Death isn’t empty like you say it is. Emptiness is life without freedom. Emptiness is living chained by fear, fear of loss, of death. Break the chains of fear and you break the chains that bind us.”

 

I am not going to summarize this book because I just finished it and I am so busy rejoicing in its perfect awesomeness that I would rather talk about THAT than write up a summary. I picked up this book for two reasons. The first one is the plethora of goodreads reviews that rave about its greatness. The second is the stark and simple beauty of the cover that just screams for your attention. Sometimes I am shallow enough to pick up a book because of how gorgeous the cover is, and many times I am rewarded by getting a treasure of a book. This was definitely one of these occasions, because this was without a doubt one of the best books that I have ever read in my entire life.

On the little cover blurb thing, Scott Sigler compares the main character Darrow to Ender and Katniss from Ender’s Game and The Hunger Games, respectively. When I first picked up the book I didn’t really put much stock into that, because I feel like so many books nowadays try to compare everything to The Hunger Games because of its popularity. But after completing it I can definitely see how the characters are similar, and that might contribute to why I enjoyed it so much. See, Darrow is like Ender because Enders Game is about a bunch of mentally unstable young people, and so it this book (albeit the characters in this book are a little older). But Darrow and Katniss are very similar in my opinion due to one simple factor…they are both survivors. No matter what the odds, no matter what it takes, Darrow will survive and come out on top. No matter how bad the situation gets, (and BELIEVE me does it get bad in a lot of moments) he does everything in his power to survive. I can’t even begin to describe how much I admire him for this aspect of his personality. I find this quality to be indescribably amazing. Maybe this is just me, but I am a big believer in justice being obtained no matter how you go about it. Darrow does some things in this book that are very questionable. Things get gritty. Things get bloody. But in the end, he is the type of person that you just can’t take down. Not completely. Because no matter what you do to him, or what you take from him-he’s just going to keep coming.

“You are a good man who will have to do bad things. It is the hottest fire that forms the sternest steel.”

The writing style is absolutely fantastic. Even though this is a dystopian setting on a planet other than Earth it is very easy to picture everything that is occurring because of how well it was written. This type of story is the type that has the potential to get bogged down or confusing very easily, but it never did for me. There is so much constantly happening that I didn’t want to put it down. I was about five chapters away from the ending during lunch today and was practically bouncing around in my seat for the rest of the day because all I could think about was going home and finishing it.

I can’t speak highly enough of this book. If you like dystopian stories and/or characters who are completely badass and amazing, please read this book. And then message me so we can fangirl over it together! 😛

Leave a Reply

