Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Panic

on March 13, 2014

Title: Panic

Author: Lauren Oliver

Rating: fivestars

panic

Bravery was in moving forward, no matter what. She knew, now, that there was always light-beyond the dark, and the fear, out of the depths; there was sun to reach for, and air and space and freedom.

The game of Panic has taken place in the town of Cade, NY for as long as anyone could remember. Any and every senior could participate, the events starting out exhilarating yet benign and increasing in adrenaline and danger as the summer wears on. Heather isn’t sure exactly why she decided to play. It may have partially been because of the huge pot of money that the winner gets. It may have even partially been because her best friend Nat joined as well. It may have even partially been to get back at her boyfriend for dumping her. But most likely is was because Heather realized there was a strength in herself that she never realized was there. A strength that is starting to shine through…especially when the game reaches the most dangerous level possible.

This book has been receiving varying degrees of feelings towards it, which surprised me at first because usually everything written by Lauren Oliver is a smash hit. But after completing the book…I can understand how some people could feel a little underwhelmed about it. I am a huge fan of Lauren Oliver, and love every single book she’s written, but this book was completely unlike anything I have read from her before. It was a bit darker and grittier in terms of the characters. There were quite a few moments while reading that I did not like any of the main protagonists. At times they were mean, shallow, vindictive…but for some reason I found myself completely engrossed in the story and couldn’t put it down. I realized when I reached the end and I was crying because I didn’t want it to end, I didn’t want to part ways with these characters who, even though they weren’t always likable, they were very believable and felt so real to me. And the writing was, of course, amazing and intense and just all around wonderful. I loved this book so damn much.

Leave a Reply

