Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Star Wars Jedi Apprentice: The Defenders of the Dead

on March 13, 2014

Title: Star Wars Jedi Apprentice: The Defenders of the Dead

Author: Jude Watson

Rating: twostars

defendersofthedead

“Our mission here hasn’t even begun, and already I have seen enough suffering to last a lifetime.” Qui-Gon’s gaze was sad. “There are some worlds that manage to hold onto peace for centuries, Padawan. But I am afraid that many have seen terrible wars that scar the memories of each generation. It has always been.”

 

Following the format of the previous books, this one begins right where the last one left off, after the Gala incident. Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan are now ordered to the planet of Melida/Daan, where they are to rescue the Jedi Knight Tahl, who is being held hostage by one of the warring factions of the planet. Peace is a non-existent concept to the people of Melida/Daan, who have been fighting each other for centuries. But now a third party has surfaced, the children of all the warriors, who want both sides to stop the fighting and to focus on peace. Despite the fact that the Jedi are not supposed to get involved in the actual conflict, Obi-Wan feels the overwhelming need to join the teenagers in their quest for peace.

What is this horseshit that I just read?!?! This book….*sighs* I can’t lie, this book absolutely pissed me off to no end. The storyline was good, very emotional and intense, but the way the two main characters were depicted was really just awful. This may or not be biased on my part, because I happen to love Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan and can sometimes be a bit sensitive regarding the way they are portrayed. :/ I don’t want to divulge too much, because if you are interested in reading this book I would hate to spoil it. But to put it very vaguely, Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon vehemently disagree about an issue, and Obi-Wan basically breaks away from the Jedi Order. Seriously? I know this series is supposed to highlight Obi-Wan’s character and illuminate how he was when he was younger compared to the Jedi we know him as from The Clone Wars and later, but this is such a huge difference in personalities that it doesn’t even feel like the same character. The Obi-Wan I know and love would never act as if he didn’t give a fig for the Jedi Order, or absolutely break Qui-Gon’s heart the way he did. And watching Qui-Gon’s pain and feelings of guilt over this change in his padawan made me want to throw things. It was just too sad for me to handle. Ridiculous. I understand that people change over time, especially from when they are young, but come on. This is just too much for me to swallow and made the entire thing seem very unbelievable. If you know me, you know that I very rarely rate a book with one or two stars unless it was just horrendous. Yep. Horrendous. Sums this one up pretty well.

Leave a Reply

