Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Ruler’s Desire

on March 20, 2014

Title: Ruler’s Desire

Author: David Staniforth

Rating: fivestars

rulers desire

Just knowing that out there, in some distant unreachable place, there was somebody who cared about her; that would have been enough to sustain her.

“You became a symbol of hope. Without meaning to, you’ve brought all these people together.”

In Ruler’s Desire, the second installment in the Fuel to the Fire trilogy, Davran and Ronyn return to Davran’s world to try and beat back the darkness that is plaguing the land due to Saurian’s influence and in turn fulfill the ancient prophecy. Davran must leave the wondrous, beautiful, and safe realm that Ronyn is from to return to her world of darkness and shadows. But she is not the same scared young girl she was when she left. She is stronger now, more confident in herself and what she believes in. Dangers abound and intensity flares as the young couple receive help from Davran’s parents and the other villagers and move towards overthrowing Saurian.

Wow. As much as I loved the first book in this series I am surprised to admit that I loved this one even more. There are so many things to love about this book, I almost don’t know where to start! Okay, one of my favorite things I want to talk about is the story itself. Fantasy is a genre that is known for its unique storylines but this one really blows a lot of others out of the park. I love the idea of the two worlds; one light and one dark and that they have to have a balance between them. One of my favorite things about David Staniforth’s writing style (which I discovered in Alloria) is the highly descriptive way in which he writes. It is perfect in this sort of story because I could see so vividly the various aspects of both Davran’s and Ronyn’s worlds and it was almost like I was experiencing everything right alongside of Davran. I love when a fantasy story does that!

The other aspect which I absolutely loved was the character development, particularly with Davran. In the first book she was unsure, timid, and full of fear most of the time. Which was understandable of course because of the world in which she grew up. I can’t even imagine how hard that must have been, living in constant fear and having to disguise who you really are all the time. But after traveling to Ronyn’s world, experiencing the kindness and generosity of him and his family and seeing rainbows for the first time, she is filled with something other than fear. Hope. Hope that the world can be a better place. Hope that the evil reign of Saurian will end and that the people of her world can finally be free. Hope that she can live the way she wants to live with the people she loves. And she is fueled by the passion and desire to grow and be even stronger as a person. I look forward to seeing her character develop even more as the series progresses even further!

And holy crap what a twist near the end! I was blown away by the complexity of it and how it tied SO MANY things together! I won’t give it away because I want you to experience it for yourself but just be prepared for your mind to explode with awesomeness!

I love this series so much and would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys unique, well written fantasy stories with highly developed characters.

2 responses to “Review: Ruler’s Desire

  1. Thanks Branwen; awesome review,as always.

Leave a Reply

