Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Elemental Cascade

on March 22, 2014

Title: Elemental Cascade

Author: David Staniforth

Rating: fivestars

elementalcascade

“I like to think anyone can be anything they want to be, given enough motivation. Sometimes evil men will do good, and good men will do evil. Each and every one of us has the capacity to travel to the extremes of both.”

In the third and last book in the Fuel to the Fire trilogy, Davran faces her worst foe yet. Grizzle, the inherently evil sorceress whose powers were kept in check by the tyrant Saurian. Now that he is dead, her powers know no bounds, and she will stop at nothing to ruin Davran and plunge the world into everlasting darkness and ruin. Davran must reach inside herself, deeper than she ever has before, to find the strength to overcome evil and bring light and hope to those she loves.

Wow. I wanted to take my time and savor this book by reading slowly but it started off with such a bang and was so damn exciting the whole time I just found that I couldn’t stop reading! This was the longest book in the series, which was fantastic, because there were so many characters and intense situations it was so fantastic to get to spend more time with them.

There is a lot to love about this book. First and foremost, as usual, David Staniforth has brought his wonderfully descriptive writing style to the table once more and described even more places that I wanted to explore and discover. The city Santaxiom and Onktor Valley were two places that I loved reading about, they were so beautiful and exciting! There were new creatures and people (conchubar, onktor, etc) as well which added even more spice and flavor to the story.

Um also can I just say that the main evil character, Grizzle, was probably one of the most evil, terrifying, and downright disgusting characters I have ever read about? Seriously. Some of the scenes involving her really really freaked me out (in a good way). She was just about as scary as Jit the hedge witch and Emperor Jagang from Terry Goodkind’s Sword of Truth series. There is literally nothing as scary to me as those characters so for Grizzle to even come CLOSE to that is a huge accomplishment, in my opinion.

My favorite aspect of the book was Davran. What an amazing female character. I absolutely love her and was so excited to watch her grow and become an even more amazing woman in this last book. There are too few characters like her, unfortunately. She totally rocks. 🙂

I would recommend this book and this series to anyone who loved fantasy stories with great characters!

Leave a Reply

