Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Moth and Spark

on March 27, 2014

Title: Moth and Spark

Author: Anne Leonard

Rating: fivestars

mothspark

“I am not a poetess. Patient. Either brokenhearted or engaged. A good archer or rider. A spendthrift. A faithful correspondent. Uneducated. An older sister. Kind or a drunkard.” She stopped. “Is that enough?”

“And which of those is a failing?” he looked amused.

“Lack of kindness, I suppose,” she said. “I am not a nice person.”

He grinned, a splendid and amazing smile that made her want to do nothing but look at him. “Of course you’re not. Most of us aren’t. You try though, don’t you?”

“Yes, but sometimes it just slips out.”

Corin is the crown prince of Caithen who has been destined for great things from birth. His destiny is somehow intertwined with the fate of the dragons that are imprisoned by a Hadon, a distant ruler who controls everything with an iron fist. Tam is a young common born woman with a keen mind and a sharp sense of honor. When they meet by chance, it seems like fate. Attraction sparks. Friendship flourishes. Love blossoms. And yet the dragons grow restless to be freed from the tyranny that enslaves them. Corrin has no idea what he is meant to do to save them, but with the help of his new love Tam, who has powers of her own, he just might stand a chance. Which is good because he is going to need all the help he can get; for war is coming.

“You know, I loved you from the moment I saw you, before I even knew who you were.”

There are so many wonderful things for me to say about this book. First I want to talk about the aesthetics. I had no idea what this book was about or that it was even published until I came across it by chance when I was in the bookstore last a couple of weeks ago. The cover caught my eye and I was almost immediately mesmerized by its soft texture and beautiful image of a candle with black moths formed out of the smoke. When I read the back and learned it was about dragons I was immediately sure that I would love it. I mean, c’mon, dragons always guarentee a book to be amazing, right? 🙂 Also I was intrigued that it was a stand-alone novel, since those are few and far between in the fantasy genre.

I was definitely not disappointed in my choice here, because this book was just a pure delightful read from start to finish. As much as I wanted to race through it (like I usually do when I find a book that I love this much) I found that I couldn’t. The beautiful writing and fully descriptive scenes forced me to slow down and savor every single word on each page. There were a few passages that I ended up earmarking and then going back and re-reading them over and over because of how much I loved them. I wanted to disappear into this world, this world of dragons and wizards, of castles and true love. It was almost as if there were various storylines together intertwining into one beautiful and poignant story. There is the story of the dragons and how they were enslaved and the lengths that Corin has to go to free them, there is the story of the war, and there is the love story between Corin and Tam. But one part of the story didn’t dominate any others, and that was another thing I loved about this book. You don’t have to be a hardcore fantasy fan or a hardcore romance fan to enjoy this. I truly believe that it has something for everybody! 🙂 There is just so much going on that kept me engaged and riveted and so excited to find out what happened next. I loved the writing style, loved the dialogue, loved the characters, and especially loved the dragons!

I loved this book so much! This is a must read! I would highly recommend it to anyone who loves fantasy books and/or romance books.

He burned for her, and she for him, and it was as unstoppable as rain in spring.

Leave a Reply

