Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Carmilla

on November 7, 2016

Title: Carmilla

Author: J. Sheridan Le Fanu

 photo fourstars_zpsgdspa3h5.png

 photo carmilla_zpsz3cr4kot.jpg

Sometimes there came sensation as if a hand was dawn softly along my neck and cheek. Sometimes it was as if warm lips kissed me, and longer and longer and more lovingly as they reached my throat, but there the caress fixed itself…

Someone recommended this to me on Litsy, and since I’m down with anything vampire related I was all too eager to read it! 😉 It was to my great surprise that I came to realize that this book was actually written before ‘Dracula’ was written. Wild, right?! That being said, I began to look at this story in a new light. The other remarkable aspect is that it has a borderline lesbian relationship between the main character, Laura, and the vampire, Carmilla. This is HUGE, especially for that time period. It’s not graphic, it’s more of an overt relationship, but it’s still pretty significant, in my opinion.

It is not very long, but what it lacks in length it makes up for in beautiful writing. It’s really quite a fantastic vampire book. It has the perfect blend of sensual encounters and horrific actions. I was flip flopping back and forth from fear and being turned on…and maybe that makes me a HUGE weirdo, but I love feeling that way when reading a book like this! Because if there isn’t a healthy dose of fear, it just doesn’t feel like a pertinent vampire book, you know? In any case, I thought it was beautiful, scary, and very well-written!

“Dearest, if your heart is wounded, my wild heart bleeds with yours…”

Leave a Reply

