Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: The Trespasser

on November 17, 2016

Title: The Trespasser

Author: Tana French

Rating: fivestars

 photo 29430013_zpslj3stiqa.jpg

“No one needs a relationship. What you need is the basic cop-on to figure that out, in the face of all the media bullshit screaming that you’re nothing on your own and you’re a dangerous freak if you disagree. The truth is, if you don’t exist without someone else, you don’t exist at all. And that doesn’t just go for romance. I love my ma, I love my friends, I love the bones of them. If any of them wanted me to donate a kidney or crack a few heads, I’d do it, no questions asked. And if they all waved good-bye and walked out of my life tomorrow, I’d still be the same person I am today.”

Tana French has done it again. I fell head over heels in love with her writing from the moment I read her first book in Dublin Murder Squad series, and here she is, five books later, and she hasn’t lost her edge. In fact, she’s sharpened it. The lady just knows how people tick; what they’re thinking, their loves and hates, their motivations, ALL of it. But this book is more than just an intricately woven narrative about a murder and the people who solve it. Her language is just so beautiful and human. It makes you feel as if you are a part of the story, as if you know the characters intimately. Plus her twists are always amazing and I never see them coming!

Leave a Reply

