Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: This Side of Paradise

on November 17, 2016

Title: This Side of Paradise

Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald

Rating: fivestars

 photo paradise_zps9bbj5x9c.jpg

He stretched out his arms to the crystalline, radiant sky.
“I know myself,” he cried, “But that is all.”

I don’t know about you, but I just simply ADORE the jazz age. All that alcohol, all that music, all that raunchiness. It’s pure decadence. This book, F. Scott Fitzgerald’s first book, is a love letter to this time period. He charts the life of young Amory Blaine as he traverses through college and a number of romances. Even though this story takes place decades ago, it has elements that one can relate to even in this day and age. Plus, Scott’s writing is just fun! There’s something for everyone to enjoy here! 😉

“I’m a slave to my emotions, to my likes, to my hatred of boredom, to most of my desires.”

Leave a Reply

