Happily drowning in books

“People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading.” -Logan Pearsall Smith

Review: Insidious

on November 21, 2016

Title: Insidious

Author: Victoria Evers

Rating: fivestars

 photo 32868583_zpslle2tbzf.jpg

I recieved a free copy of this book in return for my honest review 🙂

Mystic Harbor is just like any other Maine town. But not all is as it seems. Beneath the sleepy exterior of this place, a deadly paranormal war is being waged. When Kat Montgomery is caught in an accident one night, she finds herself caught up in a world of magic, power, and danger that she never dreamed possible. All she has to do is survive.

I had never heard of Insidious before I started it, which was nice because I went in with no expectations. And let me just say, that this book absolutely blew me away. I was sucked into the story right from the first chapter and was kept riveted throughout the entire 400+ pages. I had to keep reminding myself that this is Victoria Evers’ first novel, because she writes like a dream. The pacing was perfect; there was just the perfect amount of action and worldbuilding that it didn’t drag at all. I loved the characters, especially Kat. She just seemed absolutely so real and down to earth, despite all the crazy paranormal stuff that was going on around her. She is definatley someone I would love to hang out with! And my favorite aspect of the story was actually the mythos surrounding the Revenants. I won’t go into too much detail, because I don’t want to spoil it for you, but honestly it was such an intriguing background and description of the magic and how it worked that I am almost desperate to read the next book in the series.

I actually enjoyed this book so much that I am considering purchasing a physical copy in addition to the ebook version that I recieved. I plan on reading and enjoying it again and again!

Leave a Reply

